On God’s Team: What Comes With the Uniform?

By the grace of God, I am on His team. I have been elected, chosen, and called  by God before all ages to come to know and accept the Truth: that Jesus Christ , the Word, became flesh, suffered and died for our sins, was buried and rose again on the third day, ascended into heaven, sits at the right hand of the Father, and will come again to judge the living and the dead, and His kingdom shall have no end.

God has justified me, declared me one of His children, and handed me my uniform. I’ve made the team. God’s team. In my unworthy, indeed, wretched, state, how can I accept this uniform of which I am not worthy, and which I did not earn? What comes along with the uniform and with team membership?

Like a football team, God’s team offers rewards and makes demands. In this post I will highlight  the biggest benefits of being elected to join God’s team. The benefits that accrue to us by our election to God’s team go beyond our eternal salvation and extend to this life as well.

 The best (and in fact, the one indispensable ) gift that we can ever have is: salvation. It is a free gift of God, emananting not from our works or our “deserving” nature, but from God Himself.

 “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights.” (James 1:17)

 Here are my top six benefits of being on God’s team:

1.  Our reservation for Hell is cancelled! 

“And I tell you, you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. (Matthew 16:18)

And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.” Matthew 25:46)

 2. Heaven is a guaranteed resting place for us.

For we know that if the tent that is our earthly home is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.    ( 2 Corinthians 5:1)

3. We are assured that our sins are forgiven.

 But when Christ had offered for all time a single sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God.  (Hebrews 10:12)

“I will remember their sins and their lawless deeds no more.” (Hebrews 10:17)

“…who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases.” (Psalm 103:3)

 “My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous.” (1 John 2:1)

4. We receive the Spirit of God (Holy Spirit) in us, with its gifts and promises of things to come

Whoever keeps his commandments abides in God, and God in him. And by this we know that he abides in us, by the Spirit whom he has given us. (1 John 3:24)  

“Now there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit; and there are varieties of service, but the same Lord; and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who empowers them all in everyone. To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good. For to one is given through the Spirit the utterance of wisdom, and to another the utterance of knowledge according to the same Spirit, to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healing by the one Spirit, to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another the ability to distinguish between spirits, to another various kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues. All these are empowered by one and the same Spirit, who apportions to each one individually as he wills. “(1 Corinthians 12:4-11)

When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth, for he will not speak on his own authority, but whatever he hears he will speak, and he will declare to you the things that are to come.  ( John 16:13)

5. We are empowered to receive the Word of God  

Whoever is of God hears the words of God (John 8:47)

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. (John 10:27)

 

6. We enter into Christian fellowship with the rest of God’s team.

God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord. (1 Corinthians 1:9)

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin. (1 John 1:7)

Therefore, brothers and sisters, let us rejoice in the Good News. Let us be filled with hope, hope in eternal life, granted to us by the grace of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.  He offers us salvation, accomplished by His blood on the cross, because He chooses to be our Saviour. He is also our Lord, and chooses to reign over us. Ponder this then: since we know our Saviour, and what it takes to be saved– to have faith in Jesus Christ, to repent and  turn away from sin, to acknowledge our regeneration, our new life in Christ,  and to strive to become every day increasingly sanctified by living in Christ and for Christ, then what must we do to be worthy servants of Jesus Christ, our Lord? For Jesus is both Saviour and Lord. Once saved, how must we serve? (For my thoughts, see future blog posts).

Published in: on August 17, 2009 at 9:46 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://polyprep1975.wordpress.com/2009/08/17/on-gods-team-what-comes-with-the-uniform/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Can I add to your benefits?

    #7: My uniform fits me just as I am. I do not have to be better than I am at that moment in order to receive the uniform. He takes me just as I am. Dirt and all…pain and all…shame and all…sins and all… I fall on my knees before Him and He picks me up, brushes me off, hands me my uniform and says, “Follow me.”

  2. Amen. It’s the “Follow me” part that confuses many Christians. Salvation accomplished, we are saved, inheritors of immortal life, but we are not perfect, nor complete. We are called to “be holy.” We are to respond to God’s call, make Christ shine in the world through our lives, bear fruits of our salvation.

    Thanks for your wonderful comment!


Leave a Reply

